Synchrony Financial announced a preliminary prospectus supplement on July 28, 2026, for the issuance of fixed-to-floating rate senior notes in two separate series. The offering represents the company's latest capital markets activity under its existing registration statement. The notes will convert from fixed-rate to floating-rate instruments at predetermined dates, with interest payments adjustable to Compounded SOFR plus a stated basis point spread following the initial fixed-rate period.
Key Points
- NYSE: SYF-PB
- Synchrony Financial filed a preliminary prospectus supplement for two series of fixed-to-floating rate senior notes on July 28, 2026
- The offering includes two separate note series with different maturity dates; specific principal amounts, coupon rates, and maturity years were not disclosed in the preliminary filing
- J.P. Morgan, TD Securities, and Wells Fargo Securities serve as joint book-running managers for the offering
Preliminary Offering Structure for Two Senior Note Series
Synchrony Financial disclosed plans to offer two distinct series of fixed-to-floating rate senior notes through a preliminary prospectus supplement filed on July 28, 2026. The filing indicates that both note series will initially bear interest at fixed rates payable semi-annually in arrears. The company did not disclose the specific principal amounts, fixed interest rates, or maturity dates in the preliminary prospectus supplement. The disclosure states that blank spaces in the document remain subject to completion, with final terms to be established prior to the final prospectus being filed.
According to the announcement, the initial fixed-rate period will conclude on a date specified in the final prospectus, at which point both note series will transition to floating-rate instruments. The floating rate structure will be based on Compounded SOFR plus a predetermined basis point spread, with interest payable quarterly in arrears on specified dates. This hybrid structure allows Synchrony to manage its debt portfolio through a combination of near-term fixed-rate financing and longer-term floating-rate exposure aligned with market conditions.
Floating Rate Mechanics and Interest Payment Schedule
The prospectus supplement provides details on the floating-rate conversion mechanism that will apply after the initial fixed-rate periods conclude. Once the transition occurs, each note series will pay interest at a quarterly frequency, calculated as Compounded SOFR plus an undisclosed basis point spread. The filing does not reveal the specific basis point adjustment that will apply to either series, as these terms remain subject to completion in the final prospectus. Payment dates for the floating-rate period are referenced in the preliminary document but not explicitly stated, pending finalization of offering terms.
The semi-annual interest payment structure during the fixed-rate period will transition to quarterly payments once the floating-rate period commences. Investors would receive interest accruals through the maturity date of each respective note series. The prospectus supplement confirms that pricing to public, underwriting discounts, and proceeds to Synchrony are also subject to completion and will be disclosed in the final prospectus. The company stated that accrued interest, if any, from July 2026 would be added to the price paid by investors, following market convention for debt offerings.
Senior Unsecured Status and Creditor Rights
The notes issued through this offering will constitute senior unsecured obligations of Synchrony Financial, ranking equally in right of payment with all other unsecured and unsubordinated obligations the company has outstanding. This status indicates that noteholders will have the same creditor position as holders of other senior unsecured debt but will be subordinate to any secured obligations or claims against the company. The filing explicitly states that the notes are not savings accounts, deposits, or obligations of any bank or non-bank subsidiaries of Synchrony, nor are they insured or guaranteed by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation or any other governmental agency.
Synchrony disclosed that it retains the option to redeem notes of each series at times and prices described under the "Optional Redemption" section of the note terms, which remain subject to completion. This redemption feature provides the company with flexibility to refinance or manage its debt obligations should market conditions or business circumstances warrant early repayment. Investors should review the final prospectus for specific redemption terms, prices, and dates applicable to each series.
Underwriting Syndicate and Distribution Arrangements
The prospectus supplement identifies J.P. Morgan, TD Securities, and Wells Fargo Securities as joint book-running managers responsible for organizing and managing the underwriting syndicate for this offering. These three firms will coordinate the sale of both note series to institutional and other eligible investors. The filing notes that additional underwriters may be named in the final prospectus, as the preliminary document represents work in progress ahead of the final offering announcement.
Synchrony indicated that underwriters expect to deliver the notes in book-entry form only through The Depository Trust Company for the benefit of DTC participants, including Clearstream Banking S.A. and Euroclear Bank SA/NV. The filing references an expected delivery date of on or about July 2026, though the specific date remains subject to completion. This settlement structure ensures efficient clearance and custody of the notes within the global securities infrastructure, with no listing on securities exchanges or quotation on automated systems.
Registration Statement and Regulatory Framework
The preliminary prospectus supplement filed on July 28, 2026, forms part of Synchrony Financial's Registration Statement on Form S-3, which carries Registration No. 333-288729. The accompanying prospectus underlying this supplement is dated July 17, 2025, providing the foundational disclosure document for the company's debt and equity securities offerings. The filing is governed by Rule 424(b)(5) of the Securities Act, which permits the filing of a preliminary prospectus supplement prior to the final terms of an offering being determined.
The disclosure framework incorporates by reference information from Synchrony's other periodic filings, including its Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025. The prospectus supplement instructs investors to read all information contained in or incorporated by reference in the supplement, the accompanying prospectus, and any free writing prospectus prepared by or on behalf of the company. The preliminary nature of the filing means that specific terms, pricing, and financial figures disclosed in connection with this offering remain subject to change prior to the final prospectus being issued.
Forward-Looking Statements and Risk Disclosures
Synchrony included a cautionary note regarding forward-looking statements in the prospectus supplement, acknowledging that the document may contain statements relating to future business developments, financial performance, and strategic initiatives. The company noted that actual results, outcomes, and financial condition may differ materially from forward-looking statements based on various risks and uncertainties. The filing points investors to a comprehensive "Risk Factors" section beginning on page S-11 of the prospectus supplement, which outlines material risks associated with investing in the notes.
The prospectus supplement emphasizes that neither the Securities and Exchange Commission nor any other regulatory body has approved or disapproved the securities or passed upon the adequacy or accuracy of the prospectus supplement or accompanying prospectus. The filing warns that any representation to the contrary would constitute a criminal offense. Investors are cautioned that information contained in the preliminary prospectus supplement is not complete and may be changed prior to final publication, reflecting the preliminary status of the document filed on July 28, 2026.
Absence of Secondary Trading Market
The prospectus supplement discloses that the notes will not be listed on any securities exchange or quoted on any automated quotation system. Additionally, there is currently no established secondary trading market for the notes. This disclosure informs investors that they should not expect ready liquidity in these instruments following issuance, and any disposition of the notes prior to maturity would be subject to negotiated transactions with other investors rather than exchange trading.
The preliminary prospectus supplement was prepared subject to completion, indicating that final terms, pricing, and market conditions surrounding the offering remain to be finalized. Investors and financial professionals should anticipate that material changes to the offering structure, terms, or distribution arrangements may occur before the final prospectus is published and the notes are issued to purchasers.
Company Overview and Business Operations
Synchrony Financial provides a range of credit products through programs established with diverse groups of national and regional retailers, local merchants, manufacturers, buying groups, industry associations, and healthcare service providers, which the company refers to as its "partners." The company's offerings include its CareCredit brand, which serves healthcare financing needs, alongside consumer credit products offered through retail partnerships and other commercial arrangements. Synchrony Bank, a subsidiary of Synchrony Financial, operates as the bank affiliate for certain credit products and functions.
The prospectus supplement incorporated by reference Synchrony's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025, which provides comprehensive disclosure regarding the company's financial condition, results of operations, and business strategy. Investors seeking detailed information about Synchrony's competitive positioning, regulatory environment, asset quality metrics, and capital management should consult that full annual report and other periodic regulatory filings available through the SEC's EDGAR database.



Please wait processing your request...