Sanjay Sharma, Executive Vice President and CEO of SEI International at SEI Investments Co. (NASDAQ: SEIC), disclosed multiple transactions involving the company's common stock on July 24, 2026. The transactions included acquisitions, disposals, and option exercises that reflect changes in his beneficial ownership position. The disclosure provides investors with visibility into insider trading activity at the financial services firm.

Key Points

  • NASDAQ: SEIC
  • Sanjay Sharma, Executive Vice President and CEO of SEI International, completed multiple equity transactions on July 24, 2026
  • Sharma acquired 10,000 shares at $71.12 per share in two separate transactions, sold 20,000 shares at a weighted average price of $99.3294 per share, and exercised options totaling 20,000 shares
  • Following the transactions, Sharma's beneficial ownership position reflects direct holdings and indirect ownership through an Employee Stock Purchase Plan

Insider Transaction Details and Share Acquisitions

Sanjay Sharma executed two separate stock acquisitions on July 24, 2026, each involving 10,000 shares of SEI Investments common stock at an identical price of $71.12 per share. These transactions represent a meaningful increase in Sharma's direct beneficial ownership of company equity. Following the first acquisition, Sharma's beneficial ownership position rose to 49,828.992 shares held directly. After the second acquisition at the same price point, his direct beneficial ownership increased further to 59,828.992 shares. The parallel timing and identical pricing of these two transactions suggest they may have been executed as part of a coordinated trading plan or compensation arrangement.

The acquisitions demonstrate confidence in the company's equity at the $71.12 price level. As an executive officer responsible for leading SEI's Private Banking business globally, Sharma's decision to acquire shares reflects management's perspective on the company's valuation and future prospects. The filing does not disclose specific details regarding the source of these acquisitions, such as whether they were purchased on the open market or granted as part of an executive compensation package.

Share Disposition and Weighted Average Sale Price

On the same transaction date, Sharma disposed of 20,000 shares of SEIC common stock at a weighted average price of $99.3294 per share. The filing notes that this figure represents a weighted average of a range of sale prices from $99.09 to $99.75, indicating that the shares were sold in multiple tranches or at varying prices throughout the trading day. Following this disposition, Sharma's direct beneficial ownership position decreased to 39,828.992 shares. The difference between his acquisition price of $71.12 and his disposal price averaging $99.33 represents a significant appreciation in the equity value over the period he held these shares.

The sale of shares at prices substantially higher than the acquisition prices completed on the same day suggests Sharma may have been executing a predetermined trading strategy or taking advantage of favorable market conditions. The filing indicates that Sharma undertakes to provide full information regarding the number of shares sold at each separate price to the Securities and Exchange Commission, the company, or any stockholder upon request, ensuring transparency in the transaction execution.

Options Exercise and Derivative Security Transactions

Sharma exercised options to purchase common stock on July 24, 2026, involving two separate option grants with different grant dates and expiration dates. The first option grant, dated February 23, 2022, with an exercise price of $71.12 per share and an expiration date of December 12, 2027, resulted in the exercise of 10,000 shares. The second option grant, dated February 20, 2025, also carrying an exercise price of $71.12 per share and the same December 12, 2027 expiration date, involved the exercise of an additional 10,000 shares. Both options were received as employment compensation, as noted in the filing's explanation of responses.

The exercise of these options at the $71.12 strike price when the company's stock was trading in the range of $99.09 to $99.75 demonstrates substantial intrinsic value in these derivative securities. The timing of the option exercises, coupled with the stock acquisitions and subsequent disposals on the same date, suggests Sharma may have been executing a coordinated strategy to optimize his equity position and tax treatment. Following the option exercises, Sharma's beneficial ownership of derivative securities in the form of options decreased to zero, indicating he converted all exercisable options into common stock.

Beneficial Ownership Position Following Transactions

After completing all transactions on July 24, 2026, Sharma's beneficial ownership of SEI Investments common stock totaled 39,828.992 shares held directly, plus an additional 2,653.7771 shares held indirectly through the company's Employee Stock Purchase Plan. This combined position totals approximately 42,482.77 shares of beneficial ownership. The direct holdings represent the majority of his beneficial ownership, while the Employee Stock Purchase Plan holdings indicate his participation in the company's equity compensation program available to employees.

The filing does not disclose the dollar value of Sharma's total beneficial ownership position or provide information regarding whether this holding represents a material percentage of outstanding shares. The separation of direct and indirect holdings reflects different legal ownership structures, with direct ownership providing immediate voting and economic rights, while the Employee Stock Purchase Plan shares may carry different tax treatment and vesting provisions depending on plan terms.

Executive Officer Status and Filing Obligations

The disclosure identifies Sanjay Sharma as an officer of SEI Investments, specifically holding the title of Executive Vice President, CEO of SEI International, and Global Head of SEI's Private Banking business. This officer status subjects Sharma to Section 16 reporting obligations under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, which require disclosure of transactions in company securities. The filing was executed on July 28, 2026, four days after the underlying transactions occurred, which aligns with standard regulatory timelines for Form 4 submission.

Sharma's prominent role in leading SEI's Private Banking division globally positions him as a key executive responsible for a significant business segment. The company's Private Banking business represents an important revenue stream within SEI Investments' diversified asset management and financial services operations. Shareholders and investors may monitor insider transactions by executives in this position to gain insight into management's assessment of the company's strategic direction and financial performance.

Trading Plan and Rule 10b5-1 Considerations

The Form 4 filing includes a checkbox for indicating whether transactions were made pursuant to a contract, instruction, or written plan meeting the affirmative defense conditions of Rule 10b5-1(c). This rule permits officers and directors to establish predetermined trading plans during open trading windows, allowing them to execute sales without concern for potential liability related to trading on material nonpublic information. The filing does not indicate whether Sharma's transactions were executed under such a plan, though the coordinated nature of the acquisitions and disposals on the same date might suggest this possibility.

Rule 10b5-1 trading plans provide important protections for corporate insiders who wish to systematically sell or buy company stock while avoiding accusations of trading based on privileged information. Many companies encourage their executives to establish such plans to ensure compliance with insider trading regulations and to demonstrate good corporate governance practices. The absence of a specific notation regarding a 10b5-1 plan in Sharma's filing does not necessarily indicate the absence of such an arrangement, as the filing format only requires notation if the plan was specifically created to satisfy the rule's conditions.

Timing of Transactions and Market Context

The transactions occurred on July 24, 2026, a date that falls within the company's normal trading calendar. The filing provides no indication of any special market conditions, company announcements, or events that may have coincided with the trading date. The specific prices at which Sharma executed transactions—$71.12 for acquisitions and options, and $99.09 to $99.75 for dispositions—represent the prevailing market prices at the time of execution. Investors should note that insider transactions, while subject to disclosure requirements, do not necessarily indicate any particular outlook regarding the company's future performance.

The approximately 40 percent spread between Sharma's acquisition prices and his disposition prices reflects the normal volatility and price appreciation of equity securities over time. The filing does not provide information regarding the length of time Sharma held the shares prior to sale or the circumstances that prompted him to establish positions at the $71.12 level and subsequently liquidate at higher prices. Such decisions by executives may reflect personal financial planning considerations, tax optimization strategies, or portfolio rebalancing rather than market timing decisions.

Employee Stock Purchase Plan Participation

The disclosure reveals that Sharma maintains beneficial ownership of 2,653.7771 shares through SEI Investments' Employee Stock Purchase Plan, an equity compensation vehicle commonly offered by large publicly traded companies. This plan participation indicates Sharma's engagement in the company's broader employee equity compensation program, supplementing his direct share ownership and option holdings. Employee Stock Purchase Plans typically allow employees to purchase company stock at a discount to market prices, creating an additional incentive for employee retention and alignment with shareholder interests.

The specific number of shares held through the Employee Stock Purchase Plan suggests accumulated contributions over multiple plan periods or enrollment cycles. The filing does not disclose the purchase price, accumulated contributions, or any restrictions on the disposition of these shares. Shareholders interested in understanding the full scope of Sharma's equity compensation and participation in company programs may find this information useful in assessing executive engagement and financial alignment with shareholder interests.

Regulatory Compliance and Attorney Representation

The Form 4 filing was signed by Lindsay A. Barci, identified as an attorney in fact for Sanjay Sharma, on July 28, 2026. This signature indicates that Barci was authorized to execute the filing on Sharma's behalf, a common practice when executives engage legal counsel or compliance advisors to manage their securities reporting obligations. The use of an attorney in fact demonstrates the level of care and compliance consideration that major corporate insiders typically apply to Section 16 reporting requirements.

The filing includes standard warnings regarding the federal criminal penalties for intentional misstatements or omissions of facts in regulatory filings, as specified in 18 U.S.C. 1001 and 15 U.S.C. 78ff(a). These provisions underscore the seriousness with which securities regulators treat insider trading disclosures and ensure that executives and their representatives understand their obligations to provide accurate and complete information. The presence of legal representation in filing preparation reflects best practices in corporate compliance and insider trading management.