Susan Patricia Griffith, President and Chief Executive Officer of Progressive Corporation, received a significant equity award on July 24, 2026, according to a regulatory filing with the Securities and Exchange Commission. The transaction involved the vesting of performance-based restricted stock units granted in 2023, resulting in Griffith acquiring 133,595 common shares. Following the award, Griffith's total beneficial ownership of Progressive common stock increased to 619,032 shares held directly.
Key Points
- NYSE: PGR
- Progressive CEO Susan Griffith received vesting of performance-based restricted stock units on July 24, 2026, adding 133,595 shares to her holdings
- The vested shares included dividend equivalents accrued since the original 2023 grant date and were received at zero exercise price as compensation awards
- Griffith's direct beneficial ownership of Progressive common stock now totals 619,032 shares following the transaction
Performance Equity Vesting Reflects Long-Term Compensation Structure
The transaction disclosed by Progressive Corporation involves the vesting of performance-based restricted stock units that were originally granted to Susan Griffith in 2023. These equity awards represent a component of executive compensation designed to align leadership incentives with company performance over a multi-year period. The filing indicates that the vesting on July 24, 2026, represents the maturation of those three-year-old performance conditions, demonstrating that the predetermined metrics established at the time of grant were met or exceeded during the performance period.
The filing states that the vested shares included dividend equivalents that accrued between the grant date in 2023 and the vesting date in 2026. This mechanism allows executives holding restricted stock units to receive the economic benefit of dividends paid during the vesting period, effectively increasing the total value delivered when the underlying shares vest. The shares were acquired at a price of $0, which is standard notation in regulatory filings for equity awards issued as compensation rather than purchased transactions.
Scale of Griffith's Direct Share Ownership After Vesting
Following the acquisition of 133,595 vested shares, Susan Griffith's direct beneficial ownership of Progressive common stock reached 619,032 shares. This position reflects her accumulated equity stake built through years of service as the company's Chief Executive Officer and Board Director. The substantial share count underscores the significance of equity-based compensation in Progressive's executive pay structure and suggests meaningful alignment between Griffith's personal financial interests and shareholder outcomes.
The direct ownership figure disclosed in the filing represents securities held in Griffith's name alone. Beyond her direct holdings, the filing also reveals that Griffith maintains indirect beneficial ownership through other vehicles, including a 401(k) retirement plan containing 16,788 shares and trusts associated with her spouse's interests. These indirect holdings add additional context to her total beneficial ownership position in the company, though the filing focuses primarily on the direct transaction and its impact on her main shareholding account.
Additional Equity Holdings Through Indirect Ownership
The disclosure reveals that Griffith maintains beneficial ownership of Progressive shares through multiple channels beyond her direct account. According to the filing, she holds 16,788 shares indirectly through a 401(k) plan, which represents a common retirement savings vehicle for corporate executives. Additionally, the filing indicates beneficial ownership interests in shares held through her husband's accounts and trusts, demonstrating family-level equity participation in the company.
These indirect holdings, while not the primary focus of the transaction, illustrate the broader scope of Griffith's financial interest in Progressive's performance. The filing notes that 19,108 shares are held under her husband's name and 53,737 shares are held in a trust for the benefit of her spouse. Collectively, these various ownership categories reflect how executive equity compensation accumulates across personal accounts, retirement vehicles, and family structures over time, creating multiple layers of beneficial ownership that investors may track when analyzing insider positioning and commitment levels.
Disposition Activity on the Same Transaction Date
On the same date as the vesting transaction, July 24, 2026, Griffith also disposed of 58,919 shares of Progressive common stock. The filing indicates this disposition occurred through a code marked as "F," which typically represents transactions executed pursuant to a Rule 10b5-1 trading plan—a predetermined arrangement that allows company insiders to sell shares according to a schedule established when no material nonpublic information is possessed. The shares were sold at a price of $211.90 per share, according to the filing.
This concurrent vesting and sale activity is common among company executives and reflects tax planning, portfolio rebalancing, or liquidity management strategies. The Rule 10b5-1 plan framework demonstrates that the sales were scheduled in advance rather than discretionary transactions, which provides compliance protection under securities regulations. Following this disposition, Griffith's direct beneficial ownership decreased from the 619,032 shares acquired through vesting to 560,113 shares, representing a net increase in her position of approximately 426,518 shares compared to her holdings before the transaction date.
Progressive's Executive Compensation Philosophy
The vesting of performance-based restricted stock units granted in 2023 provides insight into Progressive Corporation's approach to executive compensation. The use of multi-year performance conditions tied to equity vesting serves to encourage long-term strategic thinking and align executive interests with sustained shareholder value creation. By making a portion of executive compensation dependent on achieving performance metrics over a three-year period, the company creates incentives for leaders to focus on initiatives that deliver results across business cycles rather than pursuing short-term gains.
The inclusion of dividend equivalents in the vesting calculation represents an additional element of compensation design that recognizes the investment returns shareholders receive through dividends during the performance period. This approach ensures that executives participating in restricted stock unit programs benefit economically from the same dividend streams available to all shareholders, further aligning their interests with those of the broader investor base. The filing does not disclose the specific performance metrics that were evaluated to determine vesting, but the fact that vesting occurred indicates those conditions were satisfied.
Insider Trading Compliance and Rule 10b5-1 Plans
The filing documents Susan Griffith's compliance with insider trading regulations through her use of a Rule 10b5-1 trading plan, which is referenced through the "F" code designation for the share disposition. This regulatory framework, established under SEC Rule 10b5-1(c), allows corporate insiders to establish predetermined arrangements for selling company securities during periods when they do not possess material nonpublic information. By establishing such a plan during an appropriate window, executives can execute sales without concern that their trading activity will be questioned as potentially based on inside information.
Progressive's disclosure of insider transactions through Form 4 filings reflects the company's adherence to securities law requirements for reporting changes in beneficial ownership by officers and directors. The filing was executed by Allyson L. Bach by power of attorney on July 28, 2026, four days after the underlying transaction. This timeline aligns with SEC requirements that Form 4 filings generally must be submitted within two business days of the transaction. The transparent reporting of both acquisition and disposition activity provides investors with visibility into management's personal portfolio decisions regarding company stock.
Timing and Context of the Mid-Summer Equity Award
The July 24, 2026 vesting date falls within the summer period when many companies conduct regular equity award cycles and compensation reviews. For a performance-based award granted in 2023, a three-year vesting period expiring in mid-2026 represents a standard timeframe commonly used in corporate equity incentive plans. The filing does not provide details about the total number of restricted stock units granted in 2023 or the specific performance targets, but the fact that substantial vesting occurred indicates those targets were achieved during the 2023-2026 performance window.
The timing of both the vesting event and the concurrent share sale through a Rule 10b5-1 plan suggests that Griffith and Progressive's governance framework operate with careful attention to compliance timing and coordination of equity transactions. Executives typically schedule vesting and subsequent sales in coordination with company earnings announcement calendars and blackout period policies to ensure that transactions occur during permitted trading windows. The filing does not specify whether these July transactions were coordinated with Progressive's broader investor relations calendar, but the orderly execution and timely filing suggest standard operational procedures.
Ownership Context in Progressive's Capital Structure
While the filing does not provide information about the total number of Progressive shares outstanding or Griffith's percentage ownership stake, the disclosure of 619,032 directly held shares provides context for understanding her investment position in the company. For a publicly traded insurance company of Progressive's size and market capitalization, this shareholding represents meaningful personal financial exposure to company performance. The fact that Griffith maintains significant direct ownership demonstrates a substantial equity stake beyond the compensation delivered through restricted stock unit vesting.
The combination of direct shareholding, retirement plan holdings, and interests in trust accounts creates a comprehensive personal financial exposure to Progressive's stock price performance. This multi-layered ownership structure is typical for long-tenured executives who have accumulated equity positions over years of service and multiple compensation cycles. The filing suggests that Griffith's personal wealth is materially tied to Progressive's success, which represents a strong alignment between executive and shareholder interests from an economic standpoint.
SEC Disclosure Requirements and Reporting Mechanisms
Form 4 filings serve as the primary mechanism through which the SEC and investing public receive timely disclosure of changes in beneficial ownership by company insiders. The detailed tables in Progressive's disclosure show the specific transaction codes, share amounts, prices, and resulting ownership positions following each transaction. This structured reporting format enables investors and regulators to track insider activity patterns and identify significant changes in executive shareholdings that may signal confidence in the company or portfolio rebalancing.
The filing's notation that no material nonpublic information trading occurred and that transactions followed prescribed Rule 10b5-1 procedures provides assurance regarding the compliance framework governing Griffith's trading activity. The use of power of attorney for filing the Form 4 is a standard practice that allows company officers to delegate the administrative task of submitting regulatory disclosures while maintaining accountability for the accuracy of reported information. The filing emphasizes that intentional misstatements or omissions constitute federal criminal violations, underscoring the serious legal and compliance obligations associated with insider trading disclosures.



Please wait processing your request...