BofA Finance LLC has priced Contingent Income Issuer Callable Yield Notes totaling $565 million, fully guaranteed by Bank of America Corporation, with a three-year term expiring July 19, 2029. The notes offer a contingent monthly coupon of 8.30% per annum but carry significant downside risk tied to the performance of the Dow Jones Industrial Average, Nasdaq-100 Index, and Russell 2000 Index. Investors face up to 100% principal loss if the weakest-performing underlying index declines more than 50% from its starting value.
Key Points
- NYSE: MER-PK
- BofA Finance priced $565 million in structured notes on July 15, 2026, issuing July 20, 2026, with maturity July 19, 2029
- Notes offer 8.30% annual contingent coupon paid monthly if all three underlying indexes remain above 50% of their starting values; starting values were INDU at 52,658.64, NDX at 29,502.60, and RTY at 2,976.259
- Issuer retains monthly call option beginning January 21, 2027; investors should monitor index performance and call activity as key risks include full principal loss if any underlying declines over 50%
Structured Note Issuance Terms and Investor Obligations
BofA Finance LLC issued the notes with a public offering price of $1,000 per $1,000 principal amount, generating total proceeds of $563,587.50 before expenses after accounting for underwriting discounts of $1,412.50 across the $565 million offering. The notes are issued in minimum denominations of $1,000 and whole multiples thereof, with approximately 565,000 notes issued. The initial estimated value of the notes at pricing was $985.10 per $1,000 principal amount, reflecting a discount to the public offering price. Bank of America Corporation provides an unconditional full guarantee of all note obligations, though the notes themselves are not FDIC insured, bank guaranteed, or listed on any securities exchange and explicitly may lose value.
Each note carries a CUSIP number 09712GAY0 for identification and settlement purposes. The notes employ a three-index framework where payments depend on whether each of the three underlying indexes—the Dow Jones Industrial Average, Nasdaq-100 Index, and Russell 2000 Index—meets specified performance thresholds on observation dates. BofA Securities, Inc., an affiliate of the issuer, serves as both the calculation agent and selling agent, creating potential conflicts of interest in determining payouts and market-making activities. Investors purchasing through fee-based advisory accounts may receive pricing as low as $997.50 per note, while dealers may earn referral fees up to $4.50 per $1,000 principal in connection with distribution to other registered broker-dealers.
Contingent Coupon Mechanism and Monthly Income Conditions
The notes pay a contingent monthly coupon of $6.917 per $1,000 principal amount, equivalent to 0.6917% monthly or 8.30% annually, but only if closing levels of all three underlying indexes meet or exceed 50% of their respective starting values on each monthly observation date. The coupon barrier for each underlying is set at exactly 50% of its starting value: INDU at 26,329.32, NDX at 14,751.30, and RTY at 1,488.130. This "all-or-nothing" structure means that if even one underlying index falls below its 50% barrier, no coupon payment occurs that month, despite the other two indexes potentially performing well. The contingent coupon applies at each monthly observation date through maturity, provided the notes have not been called earlier by the issuer.
The contingent payment structure creates an asymmetric risk profile favoring stability across all three indexes rather than diversification benefit. A final contingent coupon payment is due at maturity if all three underlyings remain above their coupon barriers on the final valuation date of July 16, 2029. This design feature incentivizes investors to hope for synchronized performance across equity market segments represented by large-cap (DJIA), growth tech (Nasdaq-100), and small-cap (Russell 2000) indexes. The disclosure does not specify what percentage of notes are expected to be called or the historical likelihood of similar structures meeting coupon thresholds under various market scenarios.
Principal-at-Risk Framework and Downside Exposure at Maturity
If any of the three underlying indexes declines more than 50% from its starting value by the maturity date, the investor faces 1:1 downside exposure to the worst-performing index—meaning dollar-for-dollar losses on principal once the 50% threshold is breached. This creates a maximum loss scenario of 100% of principal if the least-performing underlying fully depreciates. The redemption amount at maturity equals $1,000 principal per note only if the ending value of the worst-performing underlying is greater than or equal to its threshold value of 50% of the starting value. If the threshold is not met, the redemption amount falls below $500 per note, with potential total loss of invested capital if the weakest index collapses to zero or near-zero levels.
The "least performing" determination compares all three indexes and selects whichever has the lowest return from pricing date to maturity. During a severe market downturn affecting primarily technology and growth stocks, the Nasdaq-100 Index could underperform the Dow Jones Industrial Average significantly, establishing the Nasdaq-100 as the least-performing underlying and exposing investors to its full downside below the 50% barrier. Conversely, during periods of small-cap underperformance, the Russell 2000 Index could become the loss-determining benchmark. The three-year term through July 19, 2029 provides substantial time for any underlying to experience a decline exceeding 50%, particularly during recession or sector-specific crises affecting one market segment more severely than others.
Issuer Call Rights and Early Redemption Provisions
Beginning January 21, 2027, BofA Finance retains the unilateral right to redeem all notes (but not less than all, prohibiting partial calls) on any monthly call payment date at an early redemption amount equal to $1,000 principal plus any applicable contingent coupon payment if the observation values of all three underlyings remain above their coupon barriers on that date. The issuer must provide notice to the trustee at least five business days but no more than 60 calendar days before the applicable call payment date. This call right effectively caps the upside benefit of coupon payments and allows the issuer to terminate the notes when market conditions become unfavorable to the issuer but potentially attractive to investors, such as when coupon barriers are consistently met.
Call activity typically benefits the issuer when contingent coupons are being paid reliably, as redemption eliminates future payment obligations while allowing the issuer to redeploy capital. The call feature makes the approximate three-year term subject to significant uncertainty—investors may receive their principal returned with minimal additional coupon income if the notes are called after only a few months of favorable performance. The disclosure indicates that call payment dates are also contingent payment dates, integrating the two schedules into a unified monthly framework. Historical market practice with similar call-embedded structured products suggests issuer exercise of calls often occurs when market volatility increases and the cost of hedging future contingencies becomes elevated for the issuer.
Starting Values, Valuation Framework, and Index Selection Rationale
The three underlying indexes were selected with specific starting values recorded on the pricing date of July 15, 2026: the Dow Jones Industrial Average at 52,658.64, the Nasdaq-100 Index at 29,502.60, and the Russell 2000 Index at 2,976.259. These constitute the baseline values from which all performance calculations measure decline. The fifty-percent coupon and threshold barriers were established at the time of pricing and will not adjust. The valuation date of July 16, 2029 (subject to postponement in specified events) determines the final ending values used to calculate maturity redemption amounts and any final contingent coupon payment.
The selection of three distinct equity benchmarks spanning large-cap blue chips, growth-oriented technology, and small-cap domestic equities creates exposure across three market-capitalization segments often exhibiting different cyclical characteristics. No adjustment mechanisms accommodate index methodology changes, corporate actions, or rebalancing by index sponsors during the three-year term. The filing does not explain why these three indexes were paired together, whether historical correlations among them were analyzed, or what stress scenarios informed the design of the 50% barrier levels relative to historical index volatility patterns.
Guarantee Structure and Credit Risk Considerations
Bank of America Corporation provides a full and unconditional guarantee of all payments on the notes, including principal, contingent coupons, and early redemption amounts. This guarantee structure subordinates the notes to the guarantor's other obligations and senior unsecured debt. All payments on the notes remain subject to the credit risk of both BofA Finance LLC as primary issuer and Bank of America Corporation as guarantor, meaning that an adverse credit event affecting either entity could impair payment capacity regardless of underlying index performance. The guarantee does not eliminate credit risk; it merely ensures that note holders have recourse to Bank of America Corporation's balance sheet and credit profile alongside BofA Finance.
The issuer structure through BofA Finance LLC rather than directly through Bank of America Corporation may reflect internal corporate organization, tax efficiency, or legal risk isolation, but creates an intermediate obligor layer. BofA Securities, Inc., which serves as both calculation agent and selling agent, is an affiliate of the issuer and may face incentive conflicts when determining observation values, coupon payment eligibility, or recommending redemption strategies to customers. The senior indenture governs events of default and acceleration rights, permitting acceleration if an event of default occurs and continues, with the acceleration amount calculated using the redemption amount formula applied retroactively to the default date rather than maturity, ensuring investors cannot benefit from timing advantages of forced acceleration.
Observation Dates, Payment Schedule, and Administrative Mechanics
The notes employ a monthly observation schedule with specified observation dates, contingent payment dates, and call payment dates, with detailed schedules appearing on pages PS-4 through PS-6 of the pricing supplement. Each monthly cycle requires determination of whether all three underlyings close at or above their respective coupon barriers—a binary assessment with no partial credit for near-barrier performance. The calculation agent must monitor index closing levels on each observation date, determine barrier breach status, and authorize payment instructions to the note trustee. Any postponement of the final valuation date due to specified market events could delay final maturity determination and extend the note term beyond the stated approximate three-year period.
Administrative complexity increases with three indexes requiring simultaneous monitoring and an all-or-nothing coupon payment rule. Investors must track not three independent performance paths but one synchronized condition: all three must remain above their barriers. The disclosure does not detail how holidays, market disruptions, or index calculation errors are handled, though the product supplement presumably addresses these operational matters. Investors should verify observation date mechanics and payment delays by reviewing the complete product supplement and related indenture provisions before committing capital.
Risk Factor Prominence and Investor Suitability Warnings
The pricing supplement explicitly directs investors to "Risk Factors" beginning on page PS-11 of the pricing supplement, page PS-3 of the product supplement, page S-7 of the prospectus supplement, and page 7 of the prospectus itself, signaling that multiple sections of disclosure address risks beyond the summary terms provided in the pricing supplement front matter. The offering document emphasizes "important differences between the Notes and a conventional debt security," highlighting that structured notes behave fundamentally differently from traditional bonds. The public offering price of $1,000 per note contrasts with the initial estimated value of $985.10, illustrating an immediate $14.90 per note embedded cost reflecting distribution, hedging, and issuer profit margins.
The prospectus states that the Securities and Exchange Commission has neither approved nor disapproved the notes and that no regulatory body has determined whether disclosures are truthful or complete. This boilerplate language, while standard, underscores that investors evaluate the notes based solely on their own analysis and due diligence without regulatory pre-approval of terms or suitability assessments. The three years to maturity and approximately three-year term notation acknowledge the call feature's material impact on expected holding periods and total returns. Potential investors should carefully evaluate whether the 8.30% coupon justifies the principal-at-risk design, particularly in scenarios where any of the three indexes experiences stress comparable to historical downturns in their respective sectors.
Distribution Strategy and Dealer Compensation Framework
BofA Securities serves as the sole selling agent for the offering, with an underwriting discount of $2.50 per $1,000 principal amount noted in the pricing table, representing 0.25% of the $1,000 face value. Dealers purchasing notes for resale to fee-based advisory accounts may forgo some or all of their selling concessions, resulting in client purchase prices as low as $997.50, effectively reducing the embedded markup. In addition to the stated underwriting discount, affiliates of BofA Finance may pay referral fees of up to $4.50 per $1,000 principal to registered broker-dealers facilitating distribution, creating a potential $7.00 total dealer compensation per $1,000 principal in the maximum compensation scenario.
The two-tier compensation structure—underwriting discounts plus referral fees—incentivizes distribution through multiple channels while allowing fee-based advisors to negotiate lower client prices. Investors purchasing through traditional retail brokers would typically pay closer to the $1,000 public offering price plus transaction costs, while institutional investors or fee-based clients may negotiate better pricing. The total proceeds to BofA Finance before expenses were $563,587.50 on the $565,000,000 offering size, with the difference representing approximately $1,412.50 in total discounts and concessions distributed among underwriters and selling dealers. The pricing supplement does not disclose anticipated hedging costs to the issuer or how the issuer plans to manage market risk associated with the structured product liabilities.
Market Context and Index Starting Values at Issuance
On July 15, 2026, the pricing date, the Dow Jones Industrial Average closed at 52,658.64, the Nasdaq-100 Index at 29,502.60, and the Russell 2000 Index at 2,976.259. These serve as the reference points from which 50% barriers—26,329.32 for DJIA, 14,751.30 for Nasdaq-100, and 1,488.130 for Russell 2000—were calculated. A decline of more than 50% from these July 2026 levels would require substantial index moves by July 2029, though such moves have occurred historically during severe bear markets. The starting values establish the baseline for measuring whether coupons are paid and whether principal is protected at maturity, making the pricing date index levels critical to all future investor outcomes.
The three indexes represent distinct market segments with different valuation drivers and risk profiles. The DJIA's 52,658.64 starting value reflects large-cap blue-chip equities, the Nasdaq-100's 29,502.60 reflects growth and technology concentration, and the Russell 2000's 2,976.259 reflects small-cap domestic equities. Investors should evaluate whether a three-year outlook for these three market segments suggests meaningful probability of any segment declining more than 50%, which would activate principal loss exposure. The structured note was issued during a period of market stability, with none of the three indexes showing signs of imminent severe stress at the July 15, 2026 pricing date.




Please wait processing your request...