Key Highlights
● Revenue was $434.6 million, up 6.0% from $409.9 million.
● The .com and .net domain base reached 179.1 million registrations.
● New registrations were 12.7 million, against 10.4 million a year earlier.
● The board increased the repurchase authorisation by about $884 million.
Why the results matter
VeriSign, Inc. (NASDAQ:VRSN) reported on 23 July 2026 that revenue for the second quarter was $434.6 million, up 6.0% from $409.9 million a year earlier, and that the .com and .net domain name base had grown to 179.1 million registrations. The company also raised its guidance for full-year 2026, although the release does not state the revised figures.
Business and sector
Verisign, as the company styles itself, is the authoritative registry operator for the .com and .net top-level domains, and it also maintains infrastructure supporting the operation of the internet's domain name system. Its model is subscription-like: organisations and individuals pay annually, or for multi-year terms, to register and renew domain names, and the company recognises the associated revenue over the registration period. The sector is characterised by regulated pricing and high barriers to entry, because the registry agreements for these domains are tightly governed.
Jim Bidzos, Executive Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, said in the release that the company is raising its full-year 2026 guidance.
Latest reported results
Operating income was $296.3 million, compared with $280.7 million in the second quarter of 2025, which equates to an operating margin of about 68.2%, calculated from reported figures. Net income was $216.5 million, against $207.4 million, and diluted earnings per share were $2.38, up from $2.21.
The domain name base rose 5.1% year on year, with a net increase of 3.05 million registrations during the quarter. New registrations were 12.7 million, compared with 10.4 million in the second quarter of 2025. The renewal rate for the first quarter of 2026 was 76.3%, against 75.5% for the first quarter of 2025. The company notes that renewal rates cannot be fully measured until 45 days after quarter end, which is why the figure refers to the previous quarter.
Financial performance and industry context
Cash flow from operations was $232 million, up from $202 million a year earlier. During the quarter Verisign repurchased 0.7 million shares for $197 million, and its board increased the repurchase authorisation by about $884 million, bringing the total available to $1.50 billion. Cash, cash equivalents and marketable securities stood at $1.03 billion at 30 June 2026, while deferred revenues totalled $1.45 billion, of which $1,084.8 million was classified as current.
The quarter combines three features that are significant for a registry operator: a growing installed base of registrations, higher new-registration volume and a slightly improved renewal rate. Because revenue is recognised over time, those trends feed into reported results across several subsequent periods rather than just the quarter in which they are recorded. Revenue growth of 6.0% outpaced growth in the domain base of 5.1%, which is consistent with higher average revenue per registration, although the release does not break this out.
Risks and uncertainties
Registration growth can be affected by economic conditions, by the activities of registrars that sell domain names to customers, and by competition from other top-level domains and alternative online identities such as social media pages. Pricing for .com is subject to contractual arrangements with the United States Department of Commerce and ICANN, which restricts the company's flexibility. Regulatory and legal developments, the security of critical internet infrastructure and the possibility of cyber attacks also present risks. The release did not state the revised guidance figures, so the scale of the increase cannot be assessed.
Registrations, renewals and revised ranges
The third-quarter results should indicate whether new registrations remain above prior-year levels, whether the renewal rate holds near 76%, and how much stock is repurchased under the enlarged authorisation. Readers will also want to see the revised full-year ranges, including any expectations for domain base growth, margins and cash flow, once set out in the company's regulatory filings and its earnings-call materials.





_11_06_2026_20_21_57_115368.jpg)
Please wait processing your request...