Key Highlights
● Net sales rose more than 11% in the 16-week fourth quarter.
● Full-year sales climbed just over 10% to nearly $300 billion.
● Digitally enabled comparable sales grew at roughly three times the adjusted total-company pace.
● Tariff refunds added a non-recurring $0.15 per diluted share to quarterly earnings.
Costco Wholesale Corporation (NASDAQ:COST) closed its fiscal year with a report that put the Warehouse club's scale on full display. In a filing furnished to the Securities and Exchange Commission, the company said net sales for the 16-week fourth quarter rose by more than 11%, while sales for the full 52-week year climbed by just over 10% to a total close to $300 billion. Comparable sales, both as reported and after stripping out gasoline prices and currency swings, moved higher in every region the company reports.
The release arrived with a twist that matters when reading the numbers. Fourth-quarter Earnings included a non-recurring benefit from refunds of tariffs imposed under the International Emergency Economic Powers Act, a lift the company put at $0.15 per diluted share, and it said part of that refund was reinvested in member value. Strip that item out and the underlying trend remains strong, but the quarter is less clean than the headline Earnings Per Share figure alone implies.
It is based on the company's own disclosure and on independent coverage of the results, and it is written as a plain-language account rather than a call on the stock.
What did Costco actually report for the fourth quarter and the year?
The 16-week fourth quarter ended on the last Sunday of August, and net sales for the period came in above $93 billion, an increase of about 11% from the same stretch a year earlier. For the full fiscal year, net sales reached roughly $297 billion, up just over 10%. Adding membership fees pushes total Revenue above $300 billion for the first time in the company's history.
Quarterly net earnings were about $3 billion, or $6.75 per diluted share, compared with $5.87 in the prior-year quarter. For the full year, net earnings were about $9.2 billion, or $20.76 per diluted share, ahead of $18.21 a year earlier.
Operating cash flow for the year exceeded $15 billion, and year-end cash and equivalents were above $20 billion, according to coverage of the filing. Capital spending also moved higher as the company continued to add and upgrade warehouses and supporting logistics.
The operating earnings line, reported in coverage of the filing at close to $11.7 billion for the year against about $10.4 billion a year earlier, grew at a slightly faster pace than sales, which indicates that the Business gained some Operating Leverage even with member-friendly pricing.
How strong were comparable sales once gasoline and currency are removed?
Costco reports comparable sales two ways, and the gap between them is instructive. On a reported basis, total-company comparable sales for the fourth quarter rose by 9.4%, with the U.S. segment up by more than 10%. After removing the effect of changing gasoline prices and foreign exchange, the total-company figure was 6.7%.
By region, the adjusted U.S. figure was 7.2%, Canada was 4.6%, and the other international segment was 6.2%. The pattern shows that the U.S. warehouses carried the fastest growth, while Canada was the slowest of the three on the adjusted view.
For the full year, adjusted total-company comparable sales grew by 6.6%. The company's comparable figures are a useful guide to traffic and ticket trends because they exclude warehouses that have not yet been open for a full year, so new openings do not flatter the number.
Why do digitally enabled sales keep outrunning the rest of the business?
Digitally enabled comparable sales rose by 19.5% in the fourth quarter and by almost 21% across the year. That is roughly three times the pace of the adjusted total-company comparable measure, and independent coverage of the results noted that digital sales continued to significantly outpace overall comparable sales.
Costco runs E-commerce sites in the U.S., Canada, the U.K., Mexico, Korea, Taiwan, Japan, Australia and China. The category mix that online shoppers favor, including larger-ticket items and items shipped to the door, differs from the grocery-heavy mix in a typical warehouse basket, which gives the digital line a different Margin and fulfillment profile.
The filing does not break out how much of the digital increase came from new customers versus existing members shopping more channels, so the source of the acceleration remains a question for management commentary on later calls. What the numbers do show is that online Demand is not cannibalizing in-store traffic in any visible way, since the warehouse comparable figures stayed positive.
What do membership fees reveal about the warehouse club model?
Membership fee revenue was about $1.85 billion in the fourth quarter, up from $1.72 billion a year earlier, and about $5.91 billion for the full year, up from $5.32 billion. Those fees are the structural core of the model, since they are collected up front and recognized over each member's one-year term.
A fee increase for U.S. and Canadian members took effect in September of the prior fiscal cycle, and a commentary piece published on Nasdaq in late September noted that the boost from that increase has now nearly finished flowing through results. The same piece observed that the pace of fee growth had slowed from the low double digits seen earlier toward the high single digits and low double digits by the third quarter.
That deceleration is a natural result of lapping a one-time price change, and it should not be read as a sign that members are leaving. The release gives no renewal rate, so the retention picture has to be inferred from the continued rise in fee revenue. Going forward, fee growth depends more on new member sign-ups, new warehouse openings, and the share of members who choose the higher-priced executive tier, a figure the release does not provide.
What was the Tariff refund, and how should the quarter be read without it?
The release states that fourth-quarter net earnings included a non-recurring benefit of $0.15 per diluted share from refunds of tariffs collected under the International Emergency Economic Powers Act. The company added that this benefit was partly offset by reinvestment of the refunds in member value, a phrase that points to lower prices or other member-facing spending.
Because the refund is one-time, comparing the fourth-quarter earnings per share with the prior-year period overstates the underlying growth rate. Removing $0.15 from $6.75 still leaves a figure comfortably above the year-earlier quarter, but the gap is narrower.
Other large merchants reporting in the same window also booked refund benefits, which makes the item a sector-wide feature of the period rather than a Costco quirk. Readers comparing results across chains should check whether each company is presenting figures with or without the refund.
The size of any further refunds is not disclosed in the Costco release, and the company did not say whether more are expected. Until that is clarified, the one-time item should be treated as a feature of this particular quarter and not as a new baseline for earnings.
How big is the warehouse footprint, and where is it growing?
The company operated 939 warehouses at the end of the period. Of those, 647 were in the U.S. and Puerto Rico, 115 in Canada, 43 in Mexico, 37 in Japan, 29 in the U.K., 20 in Korea, 15 in Australia, 14 in Taiwan, seven in China, five in Spain, three in France, two in Sweden, and one each in Iceland and New Zealand.
The release does not say how many warehouses opened during the year, so the footprint figure is best read as a snapshot. Capital spending of more than $6 billion for the year, versus about $5.5 billion the year before, is consistent with continued openings, remodels and distribution upgrades.
International markets remain a smaller share of the base, but the reported other international comparable growth of just over 9.5% for the year, before adjustment, shows that the smaller segments are not lagging the U.S. in demand terms.
How does the cash position support the Dividend and other spending?
Cash dividend payments totaled about $2.46 billion for the year, up from roughly $2.18 billion in the prior year. The release does not state a per-share rate, and the regular quarterly dividend is announced separately in a dedicated press release.
With Operating Cash Flow comfortably exceeding both capital spending and dividends, the company ended the year with more than $20 billion in cash and equivalents. That balance gives management flexibility to fund warehouse growth, absorb pricing moves and, if it chooses, announce special distributions, which Costco has done in earlier years.
Nothing in the filing signals a change to that pattern. Readers who follow Retail Stocks will recognize the contrast with merchants that have had to draw on Credit lines to fund inventory, a gap that reflects the cash-generating character of the club format.
Where does Costco sit among its large-cap retail peers?
Costco is a member of the benchmark S&P 500 and is one of the largest consumer retailers by market capitalization. The coverage of the results noted that at the time of the late-September preview the stock traded at a price-to-earnings multiple in the mid-forties, well above the multiples for most large merchants, and below its 52-week peak.
That premium multiple reflects the regularity of the membership stream and the consistent comparable growth, though it also means the stock is sensitive to any sign of slowing fee growth or margin pressure. The nature of the multiple is a description of how the market has priced the company rather than a view on whether that price is right.
Peers including Walmart and its Sam's Club unit, and BJ's Wholesale Club, compete for the same warehouse-club shopper, while mass merchants compete on grocery and general merchandise. None of the peers matches Costco's pace of digital growth on a like-for-like basis according to the figures each has reported.
Why does the 16-week quarter shape how the numbers compare?
Costco's fiscal calendar divides the year into three 12-week quarters followed by a 16-week fourth quarter, which means the final period carries more weight than the others. A reader comparing the fourth quarter with the third quarter will see a large jump in sales that is largely a calendar effect rather than a surge in demand.
The company also ends its year on the Sunday closest to the end of August, so the fiscal year does not line up with a calendar year. Year-over-year comparisons are therefore made against the matching 16-week window a year earlier, which keeps the comparison fair even though the periods are long.
One more calendar quirk matters for the coming report. The new fiscal year began in the final days of August, so the first-quarter report in December will cover only 12 weeks, and the holiday shopping period will fall mostly inside the second quarter, not the first.
What do the regional comparable figures say about the U.S. consumer?
The U.S. segment posted the strongest reported comparable growth in the quarter, above 10%, and an adjusted figure just over 7%. That adjusted number is well above what many large merchants have reported, and it points to healthy traffic and larger baskets at U.S. warehouses.
Gasoline is a swing Factor in the reported figure because Costco moves a large Volume of fuel, and a rise in pump prices lifts reported comparable sales even if members pump no more gallons. That explains why the reported U.S. number is several points above the adjusted number.
The company does not publish traffic and ticket data in the release itself, but it usually discusses both on its earnings call. Those details help explain whether growth came from more shopper visits or from higher spending per visit.
A further point is that the U.S. base is by far the largest, with several hundred warehouses, so even a modest change in the adjusted comparable rate moves the consolidated total. Canada and the smaller international markets matter for Diversification but cannot offset a slowdown in the home market on their own.
What are the margin and pricing questions to watch?
Gross margin has been a recurring discussion point. In the third quarter, the gross margin was about 11 point oh 4% of net sales, versus 11.25% a year earlier, according to the preview commentary. The company has said it prefers to pass savings to members rather than widen margins.
The tariff refund adds a wrinkle, because management said it reinvested part of the refund in member value. If the reinvestment shows up as lower shelf prices, it could compress merchandise margins in coming quarters even as membership fees support the total.
Currency also plays a role, since the weaker or stronger dollar changes the translated value of Canadian, Mexican, Japanese and European sales. The gap between reported and adjusted comparable sales in the release is the clearest evidence of that effect.
What did the company say about guidance and what comes next?
The fourth-quarter release is a results statement and does not carry forward-looking financial guidance, in line with Costco's long-standing practice of not issuing earnings guidance. The company instead reports monthly sales, which gives the market a regular read on traffic and ticket trends between quarterly filings.
The next scheduled items are the monthly sales report for October, expected in early November, and the first-quarter results of the new fiscal year, which usually arrive in December. Both will show whether the double-digit reported growth is staying put once gasoline and currency effects settle.
Readers following the name will also want to watch the next dividend declaration and any commentary on the executive membership tier, both of which tend to be discussed in the Earnings Call rather than in the release.






Please wait processing your request...