Morgan Stanley Finance LLC has introduced a new structured investment product—Callable Contingent Income Securities due July 20, 2029—offering investors a contingent coupon of 9.90% annually in exchange for principal-at-risk exposure. The securities, fully guaranteed by Morgan Stanley, are linked to the worst performance among the Nasdaq-100 Index, Russell 2000 Index, and S&P 500 Index, with an estimated value of approximately $984.70 per security at pricing. The offering targets fee-based advisory accounts and represents a structured investment strategy that prioritizes income generation while explicitly exposing investors to the possibility of significant principal loss.
Key Points
- NYSE: MS-PQ
- Morgan Stanley Finance LLC priced callable contingent income securities with an annual coupon rate of 9.90%, payable only if all three underlying indices remain above their respective coupon barrier levels on observation dates
- Securities mature July 20, 2029; original issue date July 22, 2026; estimated value approximately $984.70 per security with stated principal of $1,000
- Early redemption possible beginning July 22, 2027, based on Morgan Stanley's risk neutral valuation model; investors face potential loss of entire principal if any underlying index falls below its downside threshold
Structured Investment Framework and Multi-Index Linkage
Morgan Stanley Finance LLC's new Callable Contingent Income Securities represent a complex structured investment product combining elements of contingent coupons, call features, and worst-of-three index protection. The securities are based on the closing levels of three major equity indices: the Nasdaq-100 Index, the Russell 2000 Index, and the S&P 500 Index. The use of a worst-performing index methodology means that investors' returns are determined by whichever of the three indices shows the poorest performance over the investment term, creating a single point of vulnerability across a diversified underlying basket.
The disclosure explicitly cautions investors that holding securities tied to multiple underliers provides no asset diversification benefit. Rather, a decline in any one of the three indices beyond its specified barrier level will adversely affect returns, regardless of how the other two indices perform. This structural design concentrates downside risk rather than spreading it, making index selection and barrier levels critical determinants of investment outcome for those considering this product.
Contingent Coupon Mechanics and Payment Conditions
The securities offer an annual contingent coupon of 9.90%, paid on each coupon payment date only if the closing level of each underlying index is greater than or equal to its coupon barrier level on the related observation date. The use of the word "each" is significant: if any single underlier falls below its coupon barrier on any observation date, no coupon payment is made for that entire interest period. This all-or-nothing coupon structure creates a threshold-based outcome where even marginal declines in one index can eliminate the interest payment for all investors.
The announcement does not specify the actual coupon barrier levels for the Nasdaq-100, Russell 2000, or S&P 500 indices. Investors reviewing this preliminary pricing supplement would need to reference accompanying documentation to determine the exact barrier percentages or absolute levels that would trigger non-payment of the 9.90% coupon. The contingent nature of the coupon, combined with the worst-of-three index methodology, creates a scenario where the historically lower volatility or stronger performance of two indices cannot protect coupon payments if the third index breaches its barrier.
Principal-at-Risk Structure and Maturity Payoff
At maturity on July 20, 2029, the securities' repayment depends entirely on the final closing level of the worst-performing index relative to its downside threshold level. If the final level of each underlier remains greater than or equal to its downside threshold level, investors will receive the stated principal amount of $1,000 plus any contingent coupon due for the final observation date. However, if the final level of any underlier falls below its downside threshold level, the repayment declines by 1% for every 1% that the worst-performing underlier has declined over the three-year term.
The filing emphasizes that under unfavorable market conditions, the payment at maturity could be significantly less than the stated principal amount and could potentially reach zero. An investor whose principal began at $1,000 could receive as little as zero dollars if the worst-performing index declines sufficiently. This explicit risk statement highlights that the securities are not principal-protected investments and require investors to have substantial risk tolerance and a willingness to potentially lose their entire initial investment based on the performance of a single index metric.
Call Feature and Early Redemption Dynamics
Morgan Stanley retains the right to call (redeem early) the securities beginning on July 22, 2027, at any subsequent redemption date through June 22, 2029. Early redemption occurs only if the output of Morgan Stanley's risk neutral valuation model indicates that redeeming is economically rational for the firm as compared to continuing to hold the securities. This determination is made on a business day selected by the calculation agent—no earlier than three business days before the observation date preceding the redemption date and no later than such observation date.
The call determination uses prevailing reference market levels, volatilities, correlations as of the determination date, plus Morgan Stanley's credit spreads as of the original pricing date (July 17, 2026). The filing clarifies that early redemption will not automatically occur based solely on the performance of the underlying indices; rather, the determination is based on Morgan Stanley's internal valuation model and economic calculus. When a call is exercised, investors receive the stated principal amount plus any contingent coupon otherwise due, with no further payments made thereafter. The prospect of early redemption introduces timing uncertainty for investors seeking to capture the full 9.90% annual coupon through maturity.
Estimated Value and Pricing Mechanics
The preliminary pricing supplement indicates that the estimated value on the pricing date (July 17, 2026) is approximately $984.70 per security, or within $30.00 of that estimate. The securities are issued at a stated price of $1,000 per security. This $15.30 discount between the stated principal and estimated value reflects the embedded costs of the structured product, including the cost of the embedded options (the call feature benefiting the issuer and the downside protection being priced out), volatility assumptions, and the probability-weighted value of contingent coupon payments. The difference between the $1,000 issue price and the $984.70 estimated value represents a built-in economic cost to investors purchasing this product.
The actual commission and issue price details are not fully populated in this preliminary pricing supplement, as indicated by blank fields in the pricing table. The filing notes that Morgan Stanley & Co. expects to sell all securities purchased from Morgan Stanley Finance LLC to an unaffiliated dealer at a specified price, which will then be offered to fee-based advisory accounts at the $1,000 public price. Morgan Stanley & Co. will not receive a sales commission, distinguishing this distribution from traditional retail structured product offerings.
Credit Risk and Guarantee Structure
The securities are unsecured obligations of Morgan Stanley Finance LLC and are fully and unconditionally guaranteed by Morgan Stanley. This guarantee is critical because these are not secured obligations backed by collateral or any access to underlying reference assets. If Morgan Stanley defaults on its obligations, investors could lose some or all of their investment, despite the full guarantee from the parent company. The securities are not deposits or savings accounts and receive no protection from the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation or any other governmental agency.
The guarantee structure means that investors' ultimate recourse depends entirely on Morgan Stanley's creditworthiness and financial condition. The preliminary supplement does not disclose Morgan Stanley's current credit ratings, credit spreads, or financial metrics, though these are referenced in the valuation model used for call determination. Investors considering these securities would need to independently assess Morgan Stanley's credit profile and the likelihood that the guarantee would be honored under various economic scenarios, particularly if market stress accompanies unfavorable index performance.
Distribution Channel and Target Investor Base
The securities are available only to investors purchasing through fee-based advisory accounts, as stated in the commissions and issue price section. This distribution restriction limits availability to clients of registered investment advisers operating on a fee-only or fee-based model, excluding commission-based brokers and self-directed retail investors. The use of a fee-based distribution channel suggests that Morgan Stanley has designed this product for sophisticated, advised investors rather than the general retail investing public.
The preliminary supplement identifies Morgan Stanley & Co. (a wholly owned subsidiary of Morgan Stanley) as the agent responsible for selling the securities. Morgan Stanley & Co. will purchase all securities from Morgan Stanley Finance LLC and resell them to an unaffiliated dealer for distribution to fee-based advisory accounts. This layered distribution approach, combined with the complexity of the product terms, reinforces the positioning of this offering toward institutional and high-net-worth investors with dedicated investment advisers capable of evaluating structured product mechanics.
Observation Dates and Coupon Payment Schedule
The securities have multiple observation dates at which the closing levels of the three underlying indices are measured to determine whether contingent coupons will be paid. These observation dates are subject to postponement for non-trading days and certain market disruption events, meaning the actual measurement dates could shift if the specified dates fall on market closures or during trading halts. The preliminary supplement does not provide a detailed calendar of all observation dates but references that terms are set forth elsewhere in the accompanying documentation.
The redemption dates, beginning July 22, 2027, and continuing monthly through June 22, 2029, align closely with coupon payment dates and observation dates. This frequent redemption schedule provides Morgan Stanley with multiple opportunities to evaluate whether calling the securities would be economically beneficial, based on real-time market conditions and the firm's risk neutral valuation model at each decision point. Investors should anticipate that the coupon payment schedule and redemption evaluation schedule are intertwined, creating a complex timeline of potential outcomes over the three-year term.
Risk Factors and Investor Considerations
The disclosure emphasizes that the securities are principal-at-risk investments designed for investors willing to accept the possibility of losing their entire initial investment based on index performance. The securities do not guarantee repayment of principal and do not provide for regular interest payments—the coupon payment is contingent and can be eliminated entirely if any index breaches its barrier level on any observation date. Investors will not participate in any appreciation of the underlying indices; the payoff is capped at the stated principal amount if all indices remain above their downside thresholds, with no upside participation.
The worst-of-three index structure amplifies risk compared to a single-index security. The presence of three different indices, each with its own coupon barrier and downside threshold, increases the probability that at least one will breach its barrier at some point during the three-year term, thereby eliminating coupon payments. Market volatility, economic disruption, sector-specific stress, or index composition changes affecting any of the three indices could trigger non-payment of the 9.90% contingent coupon, leaving investors with no income return despite holding the securities to maturity or until redemption.
Product Supplement Cross-References and Additional Documentation
This preliminary pricing supplement is part of a comprehensive documentation package that includes a product supplement for principal-at-risk securities dated April 8, 2026; an index supplement dated April 8, 2026; a tax supplement dated April 8, 2026; and a prospectus dated April 8, 2026. The preliminary pricing supplement explicitly refers investors to these accompanying documents for complete terms and conditions. Key details such as the specific coupon barrier levels, downside threshold levels, the exact observation date schedule, and detailed risk factor discussions are contained in those referenced documents rather than in the pricing supplement itself.
The preliminary nature of this pricing supplement indicates that certain terms remain subject to change prior to final pricing. The blank fields for aggregate principal amount, commissions, and issue proceeds reflect that the offering size and final pricing have not been determined as of the July 16, 2026 filing date. Investors should review the final pricing supplement and all accompanying documentation before making investment decisions, as terms disclosed in the preliminary version may be modified in the final offering documents.



Please wait processing your request...