JPMorgan Chase Financial Company LLC has announced a new structured investment product: Auto Callable Contingent Interest Notes linked to the MerQube US Large-Cap Vol Advantage Index, due July 25, 2033. The notes, fully guaranteed by JPMorgan Chase & Co., are designed to deliver monthly contingent interest payments if underlying index performance remains above a specified threshold, with automatic redemption features triggered when the index reaches predetermined levels. The offering, disclosed in a preliminary pricing supplement dated July 21, 2026, targets investors willing to accept principal loss risk in exchange for potentially higher monthly income distributions.
Key Points
- NYSE: VYLD
- JPMorgan Chase Financial Company LLC is issuing Auto Callable Contingent Interest Notes with a seven-year maturity and monthly interest review dates beginning August 20, 2026
- The notes offer contingent interest payments of at least $15.2083 per $1,000 principal (18.25% per annum) when the MerQube US Large-Cap Vol Advantage Index remains at or above 70% of strike value on monthly review dates
- Automatic call features activate if the index closes at or above the strike value (4,112.61) on any quarterly review date, beginning January 20, 2027, with the earliest redemption occurring on the subsequent interest payment date
- Investors face significant downside risk: if the index falls below 50% of strike value by maturity, losses can exceed 50% of principal, potentially resulting in total loss of investment
- The index carries a 6.0% annual daily deduction that will offset appreciation gains and amplify depreciation losses
- Expected pricing date is July 24, 2026, with settlement around July 29, 2026; minimum investment is $1,000
- CUSIP number assigned: 46661KTL2
Product Structure and Monthly Income Mechanism
The Auto Callable Contingent Interest Notes are structured to provide monthly income distributions conditional on index performance. The disclosure states that investors will receive contingent interest payments on the applicable interest payment date for each monthly interest review date where the closing level of the MerQube US Large-Cap Vol Advantage Index equals or exceeds the interest barrier of 2,878.827 (70% of the strike value of 4,112.61). The contingent interest payment is documented as at least $15.2083 per $1,000 principal amount, equivalent to a rate of at least 1.52083% per month or 18.25% per annum.
The monthly review structure creates a series of 84 potential interest payment dates over the seven-year life of the notes, with the first interest review date scheduled for August 20, 2026. However, the filing emphasizes that investors should be prepared to forgo these contingent interest payments entirely for months when the index closes below the interest barrier. The announcement notes that investors must be willing to "forgo fixed interest and dividend payments, in exchange for the opportunity to receive Contingent Interest Payments," indicating that there is no guarantee of regular monthly income regardless of market conditions.
Automatic Call Feature and Early Redemption Terms
The notes incorporate an automatic redemption mechanism triggered by strong index performance. According to the disclosure, if the closing level of the Index on any Autocall Review Date is greater than or equal to the strike value of 4,112.61, the notes will be automatically called for cash payment. When called, investors receive $1,000 principal per note plus the contingent interest payment applicable to the interest review date corresponding to that autocall review date. The earliest date on which an automatic call may be initiated is January 20, 2027, meaning investors could see early redemption as soon as approximately six months after settlement.
The filing specifies that the call settlement date is defined as the first interest payment date immediately following any autocall review date on which the call condition is satisfied. Upon automatic call, no further payments will be made on the notes. This structure potentially limits upside participation for investors if the underlying index rallies significantly above the strike value early in the notes' life, as the investor would receive their principal back plus limited interest but would forfeit any additional appreciation.
Downside Risk and Loss Scenarios at Maturity
The pricing supplement contains explicit warnings about the severity of potential losses. If the notes have not been automatically called by maturity on July 25, 2033, and the final value of the Index is less than the trigger value of 2,056.305 (50% of strike value), investors face substantial principal erosion. The disclosure states that investors will "lose more than 50.00% of your principal amount at maturity and could lose all of your principal amount at maturity" in this scenario. The payment calculation in this case would be $1,000 plus ($1,000 multiplied by the Index Return), where Index Return equals the change in index level divided by the strike value.
The filing emphasizes that investors should be "willing to accept the risk of losing a significant portion or all of their principal and the risk that no Contingent Interest Payment may be made with respect to some or all Interest Review Dates." This language indicates that the notes are designed as a high-risk investment where return of principal is not assured. Even moderate index declines could result in principal losses exceeding 50%, particularly if the index declines below the 50% trigger threshold in the final months before maturity.
Index Mechanics and the 6.0% Annual Deduction
The underlying reference for the notes is the MerQube US Large-Cap Vol Advantage Index, tracked under Bloomberg ticker MQUSLVA. Critically, the filing discloses that the level of the Index reflects a daily deduction of 6.0% per annum that accrues continuously. This drag on index performance is structural and designed into the index methodology itself. The announcement specifically warns investors that this daily deduction "will offset any appreciation of the futures contracts included in the Index, will heighten any depreciation of those futures contracts and will generally be a drag on the performance of the Index."
The impact of this deduction is substantial over a seven-year period. The filing notes that "The Index will trail the performance of an identical index without a deduction," meaning investors are effectively benchmarking against a version of the index that incorporates a permanent performance headwind. For investors holding the notes to maturity, this 6.0% annual drag compounds significantly, materially reducing the probability of index levels remaining above the strike value by the final maturity date. This structural cost should be a primary consideration in evaluating the risk-return profile of the investment.
Strike Value Determination and Pricing Mechanics
The strike value has been set at 4,112.61, determined by reference to the closing level of the Index on July 20, 2026, which is not the pricing date of the notes. This distinction is emphasized in the filing, where it states: "The Strike Value is not the closing level of the Index on the Pricing Date." The expected pricing date is July 24, 2026, with settlement approximately five business days later on July 29, 2026. This timing creates a gap between the strike value measurement date and the pricing date, potentially creating pricing variance depending on index movement between these dates.
The preliminary pricing supplement indicates that if the notes priced on the disclosure date, the estimated value of the notes would be approximately $930.00 per $1,000 principal amount note. The filing states that when the terms are finalized in the pricing supplement, the estimated value will be provided and will not be less than $900.00 per $1,000 principal amount note. This suggests an embedded loss of approximately 7% to 10% relative to par value at issuance, reflecting the value of the issuer's costs, hedging, and profit margin built into the pricing. Investors should understand that they are purchasing the notes at a discount to face value, meaning they begin the investment with a negative return position that must be overcome through contingent interest payments.
Issuer Creditworthiness and Guarantee Structure
The notes are issued by JPMorgan Chase Financial Company LLC, described in the filing as a direct, wholly owned finance subsidiary of JPMorgan Chase & Co. The notes are fully and unconditionally guaranteed by JPMorgan Chase & Co., meaning that obligations to pay principal and interest are backed by the parent company's credit rating and assets. The filing notes that the notes are "unsecured and unsubordinated obligations," meaning they do not have priority over other creditors in a bankruptcy scenario, but they carry the full credit support of one of the largest financial institutions in the world.
However, the disclosure also emphasizes that "Any payment on the notes is subject to the credit risk of JPMorgan Financial, as issuer of the notes, and the credit risk of JPMorgan Chase & Co., as guarantor of the notes." This language acknowledges that while the guarantee is unconditional, it is only as strong as JPMorgan Chase & Co.'s own creditworthiness. Additionally, the filing notes that "The notes are not bank deposits, are not insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation or any other governmental agency and are not obligations of, or guaranteed by, a bank," clarifying that investors have no FDIC or other governmental backstop for their investment.
Distribution Terms and Fees
J.P. Morgan Securities LLC (JPMS), acting as agent for JPMorgan Financial, will distribute the notes and will pay selling commissions to affiliated or unaffiliated dealers. The filing specifies that selling commissions will not exceed $8.50 per $1,000 principal amount note in any circumstance. This commission structure is embedded in the price to public, meaning investors will not see a separate fee deduction but instead will receive notes priced to compensate the distribution network. The filing states that the price to public, fees and commissions, and proceeds to issuer will be provided in the final pricing supplement, but these specific amounts are not disclosed in this preliminary document.
The minimum denomination for the notes is $1,000, and they are available in integral multiples thereof, making them accessible to retail investors but still requiring meaningful capital commitments. The total offering size is not disclosed in the preliminary pricing supplement, so the aggregate amount of notes being issued is not publicly specified at this stage.
Interest Review and Autocall Review Schedule
The disclosure provides a comprehensive schedule of interest review dates beginning August 20, 2026, and continuing approximately monthly through October 2029 (the schedule in the filing is truncated but indicates the pattern). Each interest review date triggers an assessment of whether contingent interest will be paid on the corresponding interest payment date. The filing also references autocall review dates occurring on a quarterly basis, though the specific quarterly schedule is not fully enumerated in the preliminary pricing supplement provided.
The earliest autocall review date specified is January 20, 2027, which would be the first quarterly review following the initial settlement in late July 2026. If the index level reaches the strike value on this date, the notes would be called and investors would receive principal plus interest on the subsequent interest payment date. The maturity date is fixed at July 25, 2033, regardless of when the final review date falls within the regular schedule. Understanding these review dates is essential for investors to monitor whether contingent interest conditions are met and whether automatic call conditions have been triggered.
Risk Disclosure and Investor Suitability Considerations
The preliminary pricing supplement emphasizes multiple risk factors that prospective investors should understand. The announcement states that "Investing in the notes involves a number of risks" and directs investors to risk factor sections in the accompanying prospectus supplement, product supplement, underlying supplement, and pricing supplement itself. The filing specifically highlights that investors should be willing to accept "the risk of losing a significant portion or all of their principal" and should understand that "no Contingent Interest Payment may be made with respect to some or all Interest Review Dates."
The notes are characterized as structured products designed for investors with specific risk tolerance and return objectives. The risk of index decline below the 50% trigger threshold at maturity would result in significant losses, while even index levels between the trigger and strike value would produce principal losses. The 6.0% annual index deduction creates a persistent headwind that reduces the probability of favorable outcomes over the seven-year period. The automatic call feature, while potentially beneficial if the index rallies sharply, also limits upside participation and forces investors to reinvest capital in an uncertain interest rate environment. Investors should carefully assess whether the potential monthly income justifies exposure to these compounded risks.
Settlement Timeline and Market Conditions
The notes are expected to price on or about July 24, 2026, with settlement expected approximately five business days later on July 29, 2026. These dates assume normal market conditions without significant disruptions. The filing notes that in the event of a market disruption, determination dates and payment dates may be postponed as described in the underlying supplement and product supplement, indicating that the published schedule may be subject to extension under certain circumstances beyond the issuer's control.
The preliminary nature of this pricing supplement means that final terms including the exact contingent interest rate, estimated value of the notes, price to public, fees, and proceeds to the issuer will be provided in the final pricing supplement upon pricing. Investors should not rely on the estimated value of $930.00 per note mentioned in this preliminary document, as the actual pricing may differ based on market conditions, implied volatility changes, and other factors between the preliminary and final pricing dates.



Please wait processing your request...