Citigroup Global Markets Holdings Inc. has priced a new issuance of medium-term senior notes linked to the performance of three major stock indices, the filing disclosed on July 24, 2026. The securities offer potential contingent coupon payments at an annualized rate of approximately 12.201%, but investors assume significant downside risk tied to the worst-performing of the Nasdaq-100, Russell 2000, and S&P 500 indices. The notes mature on July 27, 2029, unless automatically redeemed early if market conditions trigger an autocall provision.
Key Points
- NYSE: C
- Citigroup Global Markets Holdings Inc. priced autocallable contingent coupon equity-linked securities on July 24, 2026, with issue date July 29, 2026
- Securities offer contingent coupon payments of 1.0168% per valuation date (approximately 12.201% annualized) if the worst-performing underlying remains above its coupon barrier value
- Stated principal amount is $1,000 per security; estimated value at pricing was $984.60 per security; maturity date is July 27, 2029
- Investors face full principal loss if the worst-performing underlying falls below 70% of its initial value by the final valuation date
Three-Index Linkage Creates Worst-Case Performance Exposure
The securities issued by Citigroup Global Markets Holdings Inc. are structured to track three major market indices simultaneously: the Nasdaq-100 Index, the Russell 2000 Index, and the S&P 500 Index. The filing discloses that investor returns depend entirely on the performance of whichever index performs worst among the three. The initial underlying values on the pricing date were 28,128.34 for the Nasdaq-100, 2,929.999 for the Russell 2000, and 7,411.98 for the S&P 500.
This structure creates asymmetrical risk for investors. Although holders receive downside exposure to the worst-performing index, the filing explicitly states they will not receive dividends with respect to any underlying or participate in any appreciation of any underlying. The contingent coupon barrier value is set at 80% of each index's initial value, while the final barrier value is set at 70%. If the worst-performing underlying closes below its coupon barrier value on any valuation date, no contingent coupon payment is made for that period. The disclosure suggests this structure shifts significant market risk to security holders while limiting participation in potential gains.
Contingent Coupon Payment Structure and Accumulation Feature
The securities carry a contingent coupon payment equal to 1.0168% of the stated principal amount on each valuation date, provided the worst-performing underlying closes at or above its coupon barrier value. The filing indicates this equates to an annualized contingent coupon rate of approximately 12.201%. Valuation dates occur monthly beginning August 24, 2026, and continuing through the final valuation date of July 24, 2029, with contingent coupon payments due three business days after each valuation date.
The disclosure outlines a make-whole feature for missed payments. If the worst-performing underlying falls below its coupon barrier value on one or more valuation dates but subsequently recovers to at or above the coupon barrier value on a later date, investors receive all previously unpaid contingent coupon payments along with the current payment. However, the filing states clearly that if the worst-performing underlying remains below its coupon barrier value through the final valuation date, all unpaid contingent coupon payments are forfeited entirely. This creates a "cliff-risk" scenario where extended underperformance can result in permanent loss of accumulated coupon amounts.
Automatic Early Redemption Triggered by Index Recovery
The securities feature an automatic early redemption, or "autocall," provision that may terminate the investment prior to maturity. The filing discloses that if on any potential autocall date the closing value of the worst-performing underlying is greater than or equal to its initial underlying value, all securities will be automatically redeemed on the immediately following contingent coupon payment date. At redemption, investors receive $1,000 principal plus the related contingent coupon payment.
The potential autocall dates begin with the second valuation date (September 24, 2026) and continue on each subsequent valuation date through the final valuation date in July 2029. This provision removes upside participation if indices recover but allows investors to exit at par value plus accrued contingent coupons if the worst-performing index returns to its initial level. The disclosure suggests the autocall mechanism reduces the investment horizon for successful outcomes but does not protect investors from losses if the worst-performing underlying remains below its initial value while declining further toward the 70% final barrier.
Principal Loss Scenarios at Maturity
The filing describes two distinct payment scenarios at maturity if securities are not redeemed early. If the final underlying value of the worst-performing index on July 24, 2029 (the final valuation date) is greater than or equal to its final barrier value of 70% of its initial value, investors receive the full stated principal amount of $1,000. The announcement does not disclose any additional upside participation beyond par return in this scenario.
If the worst-performing underlying closes below its final barrier value at maturity, investors face a significant loss. The payment formula becomes $1,000 plus ($1,000 × the underlying return of the worst performing underlying on the final valuation date). Since the underlying return could be substantially negative, this formula can result in principal recovery well below $1,000. The disclosure explicitly states that under this scenario, investors "will receive significantly less than the stated principal amount of your securities, and possibly nothing." Additionally, no contingent coupon payment is due at maturity if the worst-performing underlying is below its final barrier value, even if the investor has previously accumulated unpaid coupons.
Valuation, Pricing, and Estimated Value Discount
The filing states that the issue price for each security is $1,000.00, but the estimated value of the securities on the pricing date was $984.60 per security. This $15.40 per-security discount represents a material gap between issue price and Citigroup's internal valuation estimate. The disclosure specifies that the estimated value is based on Citigroup Global Markets Inc.'s proprietary pricing models and internal funding rate, and is not an indication of actual profit to the underwriter or other affiliates.
The announcement further clarifies that the estimated value is not an indication of the price, if any, at which Citigroup Global Markets Inc. or any other person may be willing to buy the securities in secondary trading. This language signals limited liquidity expectations post-issuance. The total issue price for the offering was $1,010,000.00 ($1,001,000 in par value plus $9,000 from accrued interest or other factors), with an underwriting fee of $6,060.00 across all securities, leaving proceeds to the issuer of $1,003,940.00. The filing notes that the underwriter may profit from hedging activity related to the offering even if security values decline.
Credit Risk and Guarantee Structure
All payments on the securities are fully guaranteed by Citigroup Inc., the parent company of the issuer Citigroup Global Markets Holdings Inc. However, the filing emphasizes that investors are subject to the credit risk of both the issuer and the guarantor. The securities are unsecured debt obligations, and the announcement notes that investors must be willing to accept "the risk of not receiving any payments due under the securities if we and Citigroup Inc. default on our obligations."
The disclosure states that the securities are not bank deposits and are not insured or guaranteed by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation or any other governmental agency, nor are they obligations of, or guaranteed by, a bank. This language underscores that despite the Citigroup guarantee, investors assume counterparty risk. Holders have no separate collateral or priority claim and are exposed to Citigroup's creditworthiness throughout the three-year investment period.
Liquidity Risk and Limited Secondary Market
The filing explicitly states that the securities will not be listed on any securities exchange. The pricing supplement discloses that investors must be willing to accept "an investment that may have limited or no liquidity." This language suggests Citigroup makes no commitment to maintain a secondary market for the securities, and investors may find it difficult or impossible to sell their holdings prior to maturity.
The estimated value provided by Citigroup ($984.60) is a theoretical reference point based on internal models and does not represent an actual bid price or market price. Secondary market trading, if it occurs at all, would likely be conducted on an over-the-counter basis and may be subject to significant bid-ask spreads or unavailability. Investors considering early exit should factor in the likelihood of executing trades at unfavorable prices or not at all, particularly if market conditions change or volatility increases.
Monthly Valuation Schedule and Market Disruption Provisions
The securities are valued on thirty-seven valuation dates spread across approximately thirty-six months, with the first valuation date occurring on August 24, 2026, and the final valuation date on July 24, 2029. The filing lists each specific valuation date, all subject to postponement if such date is not a scheduled trading day or if certain market disruption events occur. The disclosure does not specify in detail what constitutes a market disruption event or how postponements would be handled operationally.
The frequent valuation schedule creates multiple trigger points for contingent coupon payments and potential autocall events. While this provides regular monitoring of investor returns, it also increases complexity and the likelihood of encountering adverse market conditions at least once during the investment horizon. The announcement does not disclose how valuation dates would be affected in scenarios of extended market closure or systemic financial disruption beyond standard holidays and trading halts.
Risk Summary and Disclosure of Investment Complexity
The filing begins with a detailed risk summary stating that the securities offer "the potential for periodic contingent coupon payments at an annualized rate that, if all are paid, would produce a yield that is generally higher than the yield on our conventional debt securities of the same maturity." However, the disclosure immediately lists three principal risks: contingent coupon payments may not be received; the maturity value may be significantly less than $1,000 or zero; and the securities may be automatically called before maturity.
The announcement emphasizes that all of these risks depend solely on the worst-performing underlying, creating single-point-of-failure mechanics. Investors face negative impact from adverse movement in any one of the three indices, despite holding an instrument that purports to offer diversification through multi-index linkage. The filing states that investors "will have downside exposure to the worst performing underlying" but will neither receive dividends nor participate in appreciation. This structure concentrates downside risk while eliminating upside capture, a trade-off the disclosure presents as an intentional feature of the high contingent coupon offering.



Please wait processing your request...